Nerdfighters

This is intended to be a book reccommendation thread. If you see a book listed on this thread that you are familiar with and you know of another book that someone might like based on their reccommendation, then you reccommend that book. Get it? For example: Someone says that they reccommend Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, then someone else might see that and say "If you like that book you'll love The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield", then someone else might see that and say, "If you like Thirteeth Tale you might enjoy Northanger Abby by Jane Austen," and then Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe, and so on and so forth. (Sorry, I'm a Brit Lit geek)

Anyway, I'll get the ball rolling with a some better known works. Feel free to respond to any of the titles listed above or below.
-The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
-The John Green canon
-Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
-Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
-The Watchmen by Alan Moore

Tags: books, literature, reccommendations

Views: 1937

Replies are closed for this discussion.

Replies to This Discussion

If you enjoyed the Harry Potter Series, you might be interested in the Australian writer Garth Nix; his trilogy of the "Old Kingdom" (Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen) is delightful. Definitely a must-read for fantasy-ish nerdfighters.*


*I've not read his other series. They might be wombat-crap for all I know...

Oh, and anyone who likes Ender's Game is... ummm... human?
Geez, I's sorry, I meant that as in "Everyone human should/does like Ender's Game" or "If you don't like Ender's Game, you aren't human"

Meaning, hells yes, it's a great book. :)
I agree.
The first book= YAY
The series as a whole= ?
The Shadow series were pretty boss.
I read Ender's Game in 7th grade. Half the class loved it and the other half despised it. I am in the half that loved it and have been re-reading it ever since. I liked the entire series, especially the OCD planet. The Shadow series is very good too.
Shade's Children was my favorite book when I was 13. I love Garth Nix, I think I read practically his whole canon.
-The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
YML
The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King

-Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
YML
Armor by John Steakly

-Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
YML
Pamela by Samuel Richardson
(Anti-Pamela and Shamela by Eliza Haywood)

-The Watchmen by Alan Moore
YML
Maus by Art Spiegelman
Like the "YML" abbreviation. Let's keep that going.
YaY! For the Dark Tower series!
heck yes!
If you like the Dark Tower series

YML Otherland by Tad Williams
-Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
YML
-Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Classic Regency Romance - Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem! by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

RSS

Youtube Links!

Here are some YT links to channels related to Nerdfighteria and educational content!

*Can you think of any more? Pass along any suggestions to an Admin who will then add it to this list should it fit!

© 2014   Created by Hank Green.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service